Wyoming Motorist Info

The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.

Points of Interest

  • Wyoming does not have State Police patrolling between midnight and 6 am. Wyoming State Police are available for emergencies and accidents.
  • A license to carry a concealed firearm issued to a nonresident by another state shall be honored.

Speed Limits

Rural Interstates: Cars 75 (80 on specified segments), Trucks 75 (80 on specified segments)
Urban Interstates: Cars 75 (80 on specified segments), Trucks 75 (80 on specified segments)
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 65 (70 on specified segments), Trucks 65 (70 on specified segments)

These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.

Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).

Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Pacing: Yes
Radar: Yes
Vascar: No
Automated Speed Enforcement: Yes
Aircraft: No
Laser: No

Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts

Trial By Declaration Allowed
Allowed at the discretion of each individual court


Jury Trial Allowed
Speeding: Yes
Parking: Yes
Equipment: Yes
DWI: Yes

Member of Nonresident Compact

Member of Driver License Compact

When and Where to File Accident Reports
The driver of a vehicle which is involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury to or death of any person or total property damage to an apparent extent of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) or more shall, within ten (10) days after the accident, forward a written report of the accident to the highway department.

(Wyoming Statute 31-5-1106, http://law.justia.com/codes/wyoming/2011/title31/chapter5/section31-5-1106)

Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $50,000
Property Damage: $20,000

Phone/Texting Restrictions
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: No
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for all offenses

Other Regulations

  • Open intoxicants are permitted in the vehicle at the option of local jurisdictions.
  • The BAC level is .08%.
  • Wyoming has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 6-month driver’s license suspension for first offense.
  • Loaded firearms carried on one’s person in a vehicle’s passenger compartment must be in plain view; only persons with valid carry licenses may carry concealed firearms.
  • Studded tires are permitted.
  • Tire chains are required at the option of local jurisdictions when posted.
  • Wyoming has a seat belt law with secondary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
  • Wyoming has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 4 years of age and weighing less than 40 pounds. Children under age 2 must use approved car safety seats.
  • Wyoming has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 19 years of age.
  • Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.

General Information
Telephone: 307/777-4301 (Highway Patrol) or http://www.whp.dot.state.wy.us/home/public_relations/pay_tickets.html (Highway Patrol Ticket Procedure)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: 800/442-9090 or #HELP (#4357)