Vermont Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
- Vermont permits passing on the double yellow line unless a signpost specifically prohibits it for a particular section.
- It is illegal to coast in neutral.
- Motorcycle helmets must have reflective patches front and rear.
Rural Interstates: Cars 65, Trucks 65
Urban Interstates: Cars 55, Trucks 55
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 50, Trucks 50
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Aggressive Driver Actions Defined by Statute
Following too closely, crowding, and harassment.
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Allowed with provisions
Jury Trial Allowed
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury, or property damage exceeding $1,000 must be reported within 3 days to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Motor Vehicle Commissioner, 120 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05602.
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $50,000
Property Damage: $10,000
Uninsured motorist coverage is required
Hand-Held Ban: All drivers (effective 10/2014)
All Cell Phone Ban: Drivers younger than 18 shall not use any portable electronic device while driving
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for all offenses
- The BAC level is .08%.
- Vermont has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 6-month driver’s license suspension.
- Rifles and shotguns carried in a vehicle must be unloaded; handguns may be carried loaded and concealed.
- Studded tires are permitted.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Vermont has a seat belt law with secondary enforcement for all passengers.
- Vermont has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 13 years of age. Children under age 5 must use approved car safety seats.
- Vermont has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law.
- Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.
Telephone: 802/295-8869 (Department of Motor Vehicles, Traffic Tickets)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: 802/244-8727