Utah Motorist Info

The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.

Points of Interest

  • When RADAR, aircraft, or photo RADAR is used for speed enforcement, warning signs should be posted at state borders and at city limits.
  • Vehicles traveling in a left lane, upon the approach of an overtaking vehicle in the same lane, must give way and move to the right lane.

Speed Limits

Rural Interstates: Cars 75 (80 on specified segments), Trucks 75 (80 on specified segments)
Urban Interstates: Cars 65 (70 on specified segments), Trucks 65 (70 on specified segments)
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 75, Trucks 75

Speed limits are presumed. (Driving faster than the speed limit is only evidence of unreasonable speed–you can still argue that your speed was safe under the specific conditions.)

Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Pacing: Yes
Radar: Yes
Vascar: Yes
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Aircraft: Yes
Laser: Yes

Aggressive Driver Actions Defined by Statute
None defined. Utah amended reckless driving law to include willful and wanton disregard for safety of persons or property or three or more moving violations in a single continuous period of driving.

Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts

Trial By Declaration Allowed


Jury Trial Allowed
Speeding: Yes
Parking: Yes
Equipment: Yes
DWI: Yes

Member of Nonresident Compact

Member of Driver License Compact

When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury, or property damage exceeding $1,000 must be reported within 10 days of completion of investigation to the Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver’s License Division, 4501 South 2700 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84119.

Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
You can choose between a “split limit” or a “single limit” policy. The split limit is $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. This also requires a minimum property damage coverage amount of $15,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident. The single limit is $65,000 per accident for all damages.
Also, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage is required.
Utah is a “no-fault” state.

Phone/Texting Restrictions
Hand-Held Ban: Utah considers speaking on a cell phone, without a hands-free device, to be an offense only if a driver is also committing some other moving violation (other than speeding)
All Cell Phone Ban: Drivers under the age of 18
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for texting/Secondary: for talking on hand-held phone

Other Regulations

  • Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle.
  • The BAC level is .08%.
  • Utah has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 1-year driver’s license revocation for first offense.
  • Rifles, shotguns, and handguns must be unloaded and securely encased; unlicensed individuals may not carry readily accessible firearms in their vehicles.
  • Soft studs on tires are permitted from October 15 to March 31.
  • Tire chains are required when posted.
  • Utah has a seat belt law with secondary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
  • Utah has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 9 years of age. Children under age 2 must use approved car safety seats.
  • Utah has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 18 years of age.
  • Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.

General Information
Telephone: 801/965-4518 (Highway Patrol) or http://www.utcourts.gov/howto/traffic/ (Utah State Courts, Traffic Offenses)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: *11 or 911