New Hampshire Motorist Info

The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.

Points of Interest

  • A license to carry a concealed firearm issued to a nonresident by another state shall be honored if such state provides a reciprocal privilege.

Speed Limits

Rural Interstates: Cars 65 (70 on specified segments), Trucks 65 (70 on specified segments)
Urban Interstates: Cars 65 (70 on specified segments), Trucks 65 (70 on specified segments)
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 55 (70 on specified segments), Trucks 55 (70 on specified segments)

These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.

Absolute (Exceeding the speed limit is illegal per seregardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions): State and interstate highway speed limits
Presumed (Driving faster than the speed limit is only evidence of unreasonable speed–you can still argue that your speed was safe under the specific conditions): All other speed limits

Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Pacing: Yes
Radar: Yes
Vascar: No
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Aircraft: Yes
Laser: Yes

Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts

Trial By Declaration Allowed

For listed criminal rules

Jury Trial Allowed
Speeding: No
Parking: No
Equipment: No
DWI: Yes*

* On appeal

Member of Nonresident Compact

Member of Driver License Compact

When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury, or property damage exceeding $1,000 must be reported immediately to the local authorities and (if the accident is not investigated by the authorities) within 15 days in writing to the Director, Division of Motor Vehicles, Financial Responsibility, Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03305.

Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $50,000
Property Damage: $25,000

Phone/Texting Restrictions
Hand-Held Ban: Yes
All Cell Phone Ban: No
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary

Other Regulations

  • Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle.
  • The BAC level is .08%.
  • New Hampshire has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 6-month driver’s license suspension.
  • In 2017, the state changed its law to allow individuals to carry loaded handguns in vehicles without a license. New Hampshire still prohibits the carrying of loaded rifles or shotguns in a moving motor vehicle unless the individual is in the act of protecting his or her livestock or crops. All firearms, including handguns, carried in an off-highway recreational vehicle or a snowmobile or a trailer towed by a snowmobile must be unloaded however.
  • Studded tires are permitted.
  • Tire chains are not required.
  • New Hampshire does not have a seat belt law.
  • New Hampshire has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 13 years of age. Children under age 4 must use approved car safety seats.
  • New Hampshire has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 18 years of age.
  • Registration must be carried in the vehicle. Insurance card is not required to be carried in the vehicle.

General Information (Department Of Public Safety)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: *64 or 911