Hawaii Motorist Info

The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.

Points of Interest

  • Every person arriving in Hawaii is required to register all firearm(s) and ammunition brought into the State with the county chief of police within 48 hours of arrival of the person or firearm(s), whichever occurs later.
  • Rifles or shotguns may be transported for target shooting at a range or for hunting provided they are unloaded and cased or securely wrapped. If they are transported for hunting, a valid state hunting license must be procured.
  • Handgun transportation is limited to one’s place of sojourn (temporary place of stay) or between the place of sojourn and a target range. The handgun must be unloaded and securely wrapped or cased.

Speed Limits

Rural Interstates: Cars 60, Trucks 60
Urban Interstates: Cars 60, Trucks 60
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 55, Trucks 55

These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.

Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).

Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Pacing: Yes
Radar: Yes
Vascar: Yes
Automated Speed Enforcement: Yes
Aircraft: No
Laser: No

DUI / DWI Regulationss
Click here for detailed information

Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts

Trial By Declaration Allowed
Yes. (Search Hawaii Statutes, section 291D-6.)


Jury Trial Allowed
Speeding: No
Parking: No
Equipment: No

Member of Nonresident Compact

Member of Driver License Compact

When and Where to File Accident Reports
The driver of every motor vehicle which is in any manner involved in an accident within this State in which any person is killed or injured or in which damage to the property of any one person, including the driver, to an apparent extent in excess of $3,000 is sustained shall at the earliest practical time, and in any event within twenty-four hours after the accident, report the matter in writing or in person to the chief of police.

(Hawaii Statute 287-4, http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol05_Ch0261-0319/HRS0287/HRS_0287-0004.htm)

Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $20,000
All injuries: $40,000
Property Damage: $10,000

Phone/Texting Restrictions
Hand-Held Ban: All drivers (effective 7-1-13)
All Cell Phone Ban: Drivers younger than 18
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for all offenses

Other Regulations

  • Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle.
  • The BAC level .08%. Under age 21, BAC level is .02%.
  • Hawaii has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 1-year driver’s license suspension.
  • Firearms are not permitted in vehicles unless one possesses a Hawaii permit to carry. And exception allows an individual to carry unloaded and securely cased firearms from the point of purchase to home or from home to a firing range.
  • Studded tires are prohibited.
  • Tire chains are not required.
  • Hawaii has a seat belt law with primary enforcement for front seat occupants.
  • Hawaii has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 5 years of age. Children under age 3 must use approved car safety seats.
  • Hawaii has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 18 years of age.
  • Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.

General Information
(HI State Judiciary, traffic info page)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: 911