Oklahoma Motorist Info

The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.

Points of Interest

  • A license to carry a concealed firearm issued to a nonresident by another state shall be honored.

Speed Limits

Rural Interstates: Cars 75, Trucks 75
Urban Interstates: Cars 70, Trucks 70
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 70, Trucks 70

Note: Speed limit of 70 MPH on divided roads that have a concrete median or buffer zone separating opposite lanes.


These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.

Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).

Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Pacing: Yes
Radar: Yes
Vascar: Yes
Automated Speed Enforcement: Yes
Aircraft: Yes
Laser: Yes

Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of court

Trial By Declaration Allowed

Allowed with provisions

Jury Trial Allowed
Speeding: Yes
Parking: Yes
Equipment: Yes
DWI: Yes

Member of Nonresident Compact

Member of Driver License Compact

When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury, or property damage exceeding $300 must be reported immediately to the local authorities.

Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $20,000
All injuries: $40,000
Property Damage: $10,000

Phone/Texting Restrictions
Hand-Held Ban: Learner’s permit and intermediate license holders, school bus drivers and public transit drivers
All Cell Phone Ban: School bus drivers and public transit drivers
Texting Ban: All drivers (Eff. Nov. 1, 2015)
Enforcement: Primary: for all offenses

Other Regulations

  • Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle.
  • The BAC level is .08%.
  • Oklahoma has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 6-month driver’s license suspension for the first offense.
  • Unloaded firearms may be carried in the passenger compartment; magazine loaded rifles and shotguns may be trasported in an exterior locked compartment or trunk.
  • Studded tires are permitted from November 1 to April 1.
  • Tire chains are not required.
  • Oklahoma has a seat belt law with primary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
  • Oklahoma has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 7 years of age. Children under age 4 must use approved car safety seats.
  • Oklahoma has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 18 years of age.
  • Registration is not required to be carried in the vehicle. Insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.

General Information
Telephone: 405/425-2424 (Department of Public Safety) or contact the court for your particular ticket
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: *55