Kansas Motorist Info

The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.

Points of Interest

  • If you are ticketed for speeding at a speed less than 10 mph over the posted speed limit, the ticket information is not made available to the insurance industry or to other states.

Speed Limits

Rural Interstates: Cars 75, Trucks 75
Urban Interstates: Cars 75, Trucks 75
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 75, Trucks 75

These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.

Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).

Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Pacing: Yes
Radar: Yes
Vascar: Yes
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Aircraft: Yes
Laser: Yes

DUI / DWI Regulations
Click here for detailed information

Ticket Payment Options
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts

Trial By Declaration Allowed

With Subpoenas, Continuances, and Diversion Agreements.

Jury Trial Allowed
Speeding: Yes
Parking: Yes
Equipment: Yes
DWI: Yes

Member of Nonresident Compact

Member of Driver License Compact

When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury, or total apparent property damage exceeding $500 must be reported immediately to the local authorities.

Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $50,000
Property Damage: $10,000

Phone/Texting Restrictions
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: Learner’s permit and intermediate license holders
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for all offenses

Other Regulations

  • Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle except in locked rear trunk or rear compartment, or locked outside compartment not accessible to any person in the vehicle while it is in motion.
  • The BAC level is .08%.
  • Kansas has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 12-month driver’s license suspension.
  • Under state law, loaded firearms may be carried in plain view, glove compartment or vehicle storage compartment; firearms may not be carried concealed on one’s person (some localities may regulate this aspect stricter).
  • Studded tires are permitted from November 1 to April 15.
  • Tire chains are not required.
  • Kansas has a seat belt law with secondary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
  • Kansas has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 15 years of age. Children under age 4 must use approved car safety seats.
  • Kansas has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 18 years of age.
  • Registration is not required to be carried in the vehicle. Insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.

General Information
http://www.kscourts.org/kansas-courts/municipal-courts/default.asp (Kansas Courts)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: *HP or *KTA