Idaho Motorist Info

The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.

Points of Interest

  • A license to carry a concealed firearm issued to a nonresident by another state shall be honored.

Speed Limits

Rural Interstates: Cars 75 (80 on specified segments), Trucks 70
Urban Interstates: Cars 75 (80 on specified segments), Trucks 65
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 70, Trucks 70

These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.

Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).

Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Pacing: Yes
Radar: Yes
Vascar: Yes
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Aircraft: No
Laser: Yes

DUI / DWI Regulationss
Click here for detailed information

Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts

Trial By Declaration Allowed


Jury Trial Allowed
Speeding: No
Parking: No
Equipment: No
DWI: Yes

Member of Nonresident Compact

Member of Driver License Compact

When and Where to File Accident Reports
(1) The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or death of any person, or damage to the property of any one (1) person in excess of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) shall immediately, by the quickest means of communication, give notice of the accident to the local police department if the accident occurs within a city, otherwise to the office of the county sheriff or the nearest office of the state police. (2) Whenever the driver of a vehicle is physically incapable of giving immediate notice of an accident as required herein, and there was another occupant in the vehicle at the time of the accident capable of doing so, the occupant shall give or cause to be given the notice not given by the driver.

Idaho Statute 49-1305

Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $50,000
Property Damage: $15,000

Phone/Texting Restrictions
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: No
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for texting by all drivers

Other Regulations

  • Open wine or liquor is prohibited in vehicle. Open beer is permitted in the vehicle, but cannot be consumed by driver.
  • The BAC level is .08%.
  • Idaho has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 180-day absolute driver’s license suspension for first offense.
  • Loaded handguns may be carried in plain view in one’s vehicle; concealment is not permitted without a license; loaded rifles and shotguns may be carried in plain view or securely cased and hidden from view.
  • Studded tires are permitted from October 1 to April 15.
  • Tire chains are not required.
  • Idaho has a seat belt law with secondary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
  • Idaho has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 4 years of age. Children under age 4 and weighing less than 40 pounds must use approved car safety seats.
  • Idaho has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 18 years of age.
  • Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.

General Information
Telephone: 208/334-8000 (Idaho Transportation Department) Emergency Cellular Phone Number: ISP (477) or 911