Colorado Motorist Info

The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.

Points of Interest

  • Photo camera tickets are not valid without “personal service,” per Colorado State Statute 42-4-110.5. According to at least one attorney, that means if your camera ticket just comes in the mail, you are safe to ignore it.
  • Be aware that the tunnels in Colorado (in the mountains) tend to cause traffic jams.
  • Motorists in Colorado do not as a rule honk their horns unless warning of an imminent accident.

Speed Limits

Rural Interstates: Cars 75, Trucks 75
Urban Interstates: Cars 65, Trucks 65
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 65, Trucks 65

These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.

Absolute (Exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se–regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions): Interstate and State Highway limits
Presumed (Driving faster than the speed limit is only evidence of unreasonable speed–you can still argue that your speed was safe under the specific conditions): All other limits

Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Pacing: Yes
Radar: Yes
Vascar: Yes
Automated Speed Enforcement: Yes
Aircraft: Yes
Laser: Yes

DUI / DWI Regulations
Click here for detailed information

Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts

Trial By Declaration Allowed

Allowed, but only at final hearing

Jury Trial Allowed
Speeding: No
Parking: No
Equipment: No
DWI: Yes

Member of Nonresident Compact

Member of Driver License Compact

When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury, or property damage must be reported immediately to the local authorities or state police.

Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $50,000
Property Damage: $15,000
Colorado is a “no-fault” state

Phone/Texting Restrictions
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: Drivers younger than 18
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for texting by all drivers and for drivers younger than 18

Other Regulations

  • Colorado has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 1-year driver’s license revocation.
  • Firearms may be lawfully carried anywhere in a motor vehicle; handguns may be loaded, rifles and shotguns must be unloaded.
  • Studded tires are permitted all year.
  • Tire chains are required during heavy snow conditions if vehicle is not equipped with snow tires.
  • Colorado has a seat belt law with secondary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
  • Colorado has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 17 years of age. Children under age 4 and weighing less than 40 pounds must use approved car safety seats.
  • Colorado does not have a mandatory motorcycle helmet law.
  • Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.

General Information
Telephone: 303/239-4500 (Colorado State Patrol)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: 911 or *CSP